Built in 1888, the original owners of this home were Frank and Emma Voightman. This once simple Victorian farmhouse has evolved over the years with the addition of numerous decorative elements. From the English Gothic south bay projection to the decorative metal cresting and rail details, this complex of house and coach house offers a unique cluster of buildings. The coach house was built in 1905 for Frank Boyson. The current owners have treated the house as an historical treasure.
The interior is truly in keeping with the rich and cluttered Victorian style and offers a step back in time. The entry library appears to be a set from a Sherlock Holmes play; it has an English beamed ceiling, built-in oak bookcases, a three-way fireplace and a Victorian pump organ. Next, you will come to the mahogany trimmed parlor, which creates a different feeling with a five globe “carnival glass” pendant light fixture, inlaid floor and 1898 upright grand piano. In this room, the three-way fireplace was covered in 1917 by a 7-1/2 foot English wall mirror. Notice also the original cast iron Victorian curtain rods.
The dining room offers a true departure in styles with its California Mission Oak. The room has a mahogany Victorian “griffin” table, curved chairs and an electrified Viennese light fixture. The bay addition to the south appears to have been added in the 1920’s.
Although the kitchen has had two additions, it still maintains that earthy Victorian warmth. The columned sitting arbor in the rear yard once had a trellis flat roof that was blown off in a storm. The unique coach house in the rear appears to have landed like “Dorothy’s House” from the sky.