This classical Chicago greystone was built in 1904 by Edgewater architect A.E. Norman. It stood alone on the block for 10 to 15 years. It has the original carved address 2163 - its Lakeview address from the original platting done by Zero Marx in 1890. Although Chicago annexed Lakeview in 1889, there was no uniform numbering system in place until 1909.
The façade of the building is clad in rusticated Bedford limestone. The architect added unique details to the porch and entryway. The stone handrails were carved in an organic design with the remnants still visible. At the end there seems to be a leaf design. The stone columns, graced with specially carved capitals, are unique in East Andersonville. The column on the left has an angel and the one on the right has an eagle. Perhaps they had special meaning for the original owners.
At the second story, above the porch, there is a balcony with stone railing. This is somewhat like a widow’s walk that appears on some Queen Anne houses. There is no door to this balcony, only a window opening, which curtails its use.
The parapet wall at the top of the façade shows some unique details including a step gable and a niche. Other carving details add to the strength and character of this building and distinguish it from others built at the time. The added height of the façade creates a stronger visual presence from the street and harkens to the Queen Anne aesthetic which focused on details and multiple wall surfaces.
According to the current owner, the original owner was Elinor Siweski. The current owner purchased the building in 2000.
In the front hall, the tile floor is designed around the letter “C.” The door on the right leads to the owner’s apartment. The stairway is oak and there is an oak railing at the top. The door at the top and all doors in the units are of custom design with horizontal panels at the top and bottom and three vertical panels in the middle. The moldings surrounding the door have crowns and details like the classical egg and dart design.
Entry to this unit is through the dining room, which was originally the second parlor. In this room you will see a beautiful fireplace with ceramic tiles and cabinet surrounding it. There is also a bay with a small window at the top. Connected to the second or family parlor is the front parlor with a bay window to bring in light. Just off the parlor is a small sitting room which may have functioned as a bedroom. The ceilings are cove ceilings with a drop down picture molding.
Down the hallway from the front rooms are the bedrooms and kitchen. The owner’s bedroom was originally the dining room, with a pantry and connecting door to the kitchen. This has been reconfigured to enlarge the room and to provide closet space. Another bedroom is across the hall. Off this hall is the bathroom. The enlarged kitchen takes up the back of the apartment. The space for the enlargement came from removing the wall from the back bedroom. Just off the kitchen is the back porch and yard below.