The date of construction of this beautiful Queen Anne style home has not been determined. According to the ancient permit file, it was built in 1905 for the B.F. Weber Company in Kransz’s First Addition to Edgewater. There are many indications that it was built much earlier, perhaps as early as 1890. This home has been preserved with most of its original design. Of special interest is the unusual turret with copper spiral, which is a replica of the original. Also original is the wide board siding and most of the windows. The brackets that adorn the eves and around the turret are original. The Joliet limestone foundation is an indication of an earlier date of construction, since the use of limestone was discontinued around 1900. The porch has been enclosed with casement windows that are original. The iron pot brackets perhaps for oil lamps that are on either side of the front door are original, as are the door to the porch and the front door. The home is on a larger lot, another indication of early construction. As with other homes on the tour, construction records from the township of Lakeview were not carefully transferred to the City of Chicago.
The home is unique in the design of the interior space. The front entrance opens into a large living space that may have been subdivided at the time of the original construction. To the right of the door is an alcove with an area for a library and piano. Directly back from the front door is the living room conversation area around a fireplace. The staircase to the second floor rises from this area. The grooved woodwork around the doors and windows is original and is painted white. The oak flooring is a replacement of the original worn out floors.
Just past the living room is the entrance to the elegant dining room. The original windows that faced the side yard and the home next door have been replaced by glass block, which creates a wall of light. Glass block dates from the 1920s and was once considered the ultimate in modernity. At the opposite end of the dining room are double French doors that open onto the family eating area, which is connected to the kitchen. This unique solution to the family dining area allowed the Cains to preserve the original space of the kitchen and still make it adaptable to the 21st century life style.
A back porch has been made into a cozy TV room. Also off the kitchen is a powder room, which was once the pantry. The back staircase opens onto the kitchen, indicating that the family may have had live in help.
We will use the front staircase to the second floor. Note the beautiful newel post and turned wood balusters. On the second floor is the master bedroom and another bedroom with windows overlooking the front of the house. Two other rooms open onto this central hallway with windows facing the back or sides. A long hall extends to the back of the home where there are two bathrooms right next to each other. Off this hallway is the rear staircase.
All the woodwork on the second floor is painted, but is in the same design as the woodwork on the first floor. The doors are six panel doors, another indication of late 19th century construction. One of these doors opens to a staircase to the third floor.
This home is filled with history, both from the time of its construction to the present day. The current owners have made every effort to preserve its beauty.