Murphy Receives Mayian Award at Spring Fundraiser

Vol. XXII No. 2 - SUMMER 2011

Over 100 EHS members and their guests gathered for a wonderful evening of Mediterranean food, stories of Historic Andersonville and general good camaraderie at the Adriatic Restaurant on May 4, 2011, for our annual Spring fundraiser.

Among the festivities were some special awards, particularly the annual Betty Mayian Award (for the outstanding volunteer) that went to Tom Murphy, whose many contributions and accomplishments for EHS have included his past service as board member and vice president, chair of the building committee and his great renditions of Abe Lincoln. The award read, “In appreciation for his outstanding Contributions to our Museum Building, With our Collections, and As a Guardian of our Security.” Tom is also active in many other community activities, including heading up the ECC Sustainability project.

Awards were also given to the law firms of Seyfarth Shaw LLP and Neal & Leroy, LLC, in appreciation of their outstanding support to EHS in the recent lawsuit.

As usual, Betty Mayian and her efficient committee (Nancy Schroeder, Larry Ebert, Barb Strauss, Pat Duff, Bob Remer and Tiffany Middleton), among others, made sure we had a very successful silent auction, meal and fellowship.