2011 Election Results

Vol. XXII No. 1 - SPRING 2011

On Tuesday, February 23, 2011, Chicagoans went to the polls to vote for Aldermen, Mayor and City Clerk.

In the 48th Ward, there were five candidates for Alderman on the ballot. The final results were as follows: 13,457 votes cast including 12,862 for alderman.

In the 49th Ward, there were only two candidates for Alderman. The incumbent Joe Moore won with 6,929 votes (72.01%) vs 2,688 (27.94%) for his challenger, Brian White. There were five write-in votes.

In the 40th Ward, incumbent Alderman Patrick O’Connor was unopposed.

Mayoral candidate Rahm Emanuel carried all three wards containing some Edgewater territory, garnering 61.61% in the 40th Ward, 68.35% in the 48th and 61.19% in the 49th.

Harry Osterman, in winning his bid to become Alderman of the 48th Ward, became the 3rd past president of the Edgewater Community Council to win election to that office. The other two were Marion Kennedy Volini and Kathy Osterman (Harry’s mother). He also continued the precedent of the alderman of the 48th Ward being an Edgewater resident. The others (in order of election) were Dennis Block, Marion Volini, Kathy Osterman and Mary Ann Smith

NameVotes for  Percentage
Harry Osterman10,46581.36%
Philip R. Bernstein7285.66%
Jose E. Arteaga6585.12%
Patrick McDonough6485.04%
Steven Chereska3632.82%
Write in00%